Backpacking Blessings: Things That Went Wrong But Ended Up Better.

Going into our trip, we knew that there was a possibility of things going wrong. A month is a long time to be gone which makes for a lot of opportunity for mishaps. However, we were very lucky to only have two curve balls thrown our way… and both turned into home runs!

Things that went wrong but ended up better.

 

1. My Flight Was Delayed

Picture this: You wake up the morning you leave for a big trip excited and ready to go. You’ve packed everything, triple checked that you have all of the necessary documents and have a cute and comfy plane outfit laid out when your phone vibrates. You think it’s a text from a friend or a Facebook notification but no… it’s an email with the glaring subject line, ‘Flight Cancellation’. AND it only gets worse, the next flight out isn’t until tomorrow.

Sounds pretty awful right? That is what I thought when I got an email that my flight to Dublin was cancelled. Definitely not how I pictured starting my trip! Especially since my friend was already in Europe waiting for me.

However, it turned out to be a blessing in disguise. Why? Because I sat next to a wonderful woman on the plane who helped ease my backpacking nerves. During our flight we talked a lot about our lives and our travel plans. She was incredibly sweet and made me feel more confident in my ability to travel Europe for a month.  When we landed in Dublin I said, “I have no idea what the hell I’m doing.” She smiled at me and said, ” You have the spirit for it, you’ll be okay.” That right there was worth being a day late.

20170522_234608
One of my first views of Dublin!

2. Our Paris Hostel Got Switched

We were in our Amsterdam hostel when my friend got another fateful email. This one stating that we were being relocated to a different hostel in Paris. After a moment of panic, we realized that I had the same email so at least we would still be together. We were not happy about this hostel change. We had picked our hostel for the location and we already knew the metro stops we would have to take to get there. There was nothing we could do though so we headed off to Paris, new directions in hand.

This turned out to be one of the best things that happened to us on the trip! The hostel itself was not the best, the wifi, that you had to pay for😒, sucked and the showers were gross. Although it did end up being in an even better location than our original. What ended up being so amazing were the girls we met in our room. A girl from Idaho, a girl from Minnesota, and a girl from Eau Claire (small world!). We became fast friends and decided to all go out to dinner and to see the Eiffel Tower sparkle together.

We had such a good night! From the cute outdoor seating at the restaurant to running through the streets of Paris in order to catch the Eiffel Tower Sparkling, it was all amazing. To top off the night, there was a really cool street performer and we danced in front of the Eiffel Tower- basically what dreams are made of😍 We had SO. MUCH. FUN. and I’m so thankful that our hostel got switched!

IMG_2981

IMG_3010

IMG_3060

Now I do have one mishap to warn you about that definitely wasn’t a blessing. Something I would avoid -like run the other way (too dramatic?)- is money exchange stores. I couldn’t find an ATM near my hostel in Barcelona so I went to a money exchange place. I took out $500 from my checking account but it ended up charging $679 to my account. I was charged the normal international fee from my bank plus the money place took a $104 commission. I lost almost $200! I learned this lesson the hard way, I hope you don’t have to!

Have you had any adventuring mishaps that ended up amazing? Let me know in the comments!

Hugs,

Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

