How to Survive a 60 Hour Work Week

I spent the first month of summer in some of the world’s most famous cities but what am I doing for the last two months? Rockin’ steel toed boots and a Cousin’s Subs apron (not at the same time😉) working a 60 hour work week.

At first, I wasn’t sure how I would survive two months of working in a warehouse for 8+ hours a day plus working three days a week at a Cousin’s. However, as the weeks have gone by, I’ve figured out the secrets to successfully working 60 hours per week while still getting stuff done AND having fun!

How To survive a 60 hour work week

 

1. Sleep

Anyone who knows me, knows sleep is not on my ever growing To-Do list, nor is it a top priority. However, when you have to get up at 5:30am, going to bed between midnight and 1am is a bad idea. If you don’t get enough sleep, you’ll feel awful in the morning when you get up and tired all day. That paired with a grey, windowless warehouse is an awful combination. Whatever your job is, get enough sleep!

2. A Healthy, Happy Lunch

Five days a week, I eat my lunch during break in a warehouse. That 30 minutes a day is something I look forward to all morning. What I’ve found is that a healthy but happy lunch can make a day 10 times better. Healthy lunches just make you feel good and when you’re working hard all day, you need to refuel with food that is actually going to help your body. BUT, you need a lunch that you’re at least a little excited about. That’s where the happy comes in! What’s the point of a healthy lunch if you don’t actually want to eat it? It’s all about balance.

IMG_3541
A ham sandwich, apple sauce, blueberries, cucumbers, dried mangoes and graham crackers with peanut butter.

3. Attitude

I’ve had my Cousin’s job for three and a half years now, I like it 85% of the time. My summer warehouse job…it’s not the worst but it’s also not my favorite. My attitude at work however is always positive. There are some days where staying positive is not hard. There are others where I literally think to myself “be positive” over and over. Focusing on the positive aspects of my job, like the nice paychecks help keep me going.

4. Prioritize Your Time

This has been a big one for me. I only have a couple hours each night to get things done so time management has been so important. I have an amazing planner that helps with this. I write down my To-Do List and set a weekly goal. Some nights I have nothing going on so I use that time to work on my To-Do list and goals. Other nights I have appointments or am hanging out with friends and family so I don’t have time to do anything else. Having a clear list of goals for myself has been extremely helpful when it comes to accomplishing everything I want to get done this summer!

5. Make Time to Relax

This is arguably the most important item on the list! Making time for yourself is so so important and is definitely what keeps me sane. I’m very go go go all the time and always have a crazy busy schedule. However, I always find time during the week to do things unrelated to my job or To-Do list such as watch a movie, read or take photos. I always feel recharged and ready to go after relaxing which makes me happier and more productive in all areas of my life!

So there you have it, my tips for surviving a 60 hour work week!

What do you do to help make a crazy work schedule a little easier?

Hugs,

Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

