How to Rock This Semester

It’s that time of year again! I am so so happy to be back in Eau Claire for Round 2~ Round 1 was a blast!

This year is going to be a little different since I am going to be studying abroad in the Spring. My goal is to make the most of my semester here and embrace every minute of it because I know I am going to miss it so much!

Speaking of embracing everything, I was recently on Pinterest and I came across this pin:

f6e8638c7a3d36a38364165b60936d3c

This describes my college experience to a T, except three months ago instead of two years ago. My life is the definition of a ‘hot mess’ but this semester I am all about embracing it! With the help of Spotify and the amazing people I’m surrounded by, I know I can tackle any challenges thrown my way- and I’m excited to!

HOW To Rock This Semester

  • A Planner

    My number one tool for organization is my planner. There is no way that I would survive college without one. Don’t just get any planner though, you have to find one that works for you! It wasn’t until this year that I finally found my perfect planner. I found it by happy accident at Marshalls and I am so in love with it. I love that every page has a To-Do List, space for notes, and a spot for a Goal of the Week.  You also have to figure out wheather or not color coding works for you. I went crazy color coding my planner last year but this year I am sticking to just black. I think it makes my planner look more organized which makes me feel more organized!

  • Decorate Your Room

    Make your room a place you want to come home to! I love my dorm room. I went a little crazy with the decorating this year but I’m so happy with how it turned out! I may have an excessive amount of photos hung up but they remind me of all the people and places that I love.

IMG_1570

  • Sleep

    Getting 8 hours of sleep is definitely not my strong suit. I love to stay up late but I always end up waking up early too. This semester I’m really trying to work on that. Making sleep a priority helps improve grades, stress levels, and your happiness. If I learned anything last semester, it’s that I need to sleep in order to be my best, and less stressed, self.

  • Excercise

    One of the great things about UWEC is that there are so many different opportunities to be active. There are free exercise classes all day Monday-Friday. From Zumba, to Yoga, to, my personal favorite, Barre Fit, there are tons of options. One of my friends and I go to a Barre Fit class every week. It’s a great way to catch up while getting a workout in. Running is another great way to stay fit on a college campus. I love running with my friends as well as by myself. It can be easy to skip exercising, using studying as an excuse. My advice, don’t. Exercising always feels the best when I’m the most stressed.

  • Dress to Impress

    You will never ever catch me going to class in sweatpants. Why? Because I love dressing up and I feel most confident rocking a red lip and a cute outfit. However, if Berks and athletic shorts are your jam, go for it! When I feel confident I am always more productive+proactive, which is a definite must for college.

  • Talk

    You might be thinking “What?! Of course I’m going to talk in college.” What I mean by this is be open, share your feelings, if something is bothering you, talk about it. I can be a really blunt person. I hate bullshit and don’t shy away from sharing how I feel. This has served me well in college. When life gets crazy, talking to people about it puts everything into perspective and really helps me figure out what I want to do about the situation.  College can be a really crazy place and having people to talk to is the only way I survive it.

  • Make Time For Fun

    This is probably the most important item on the list! College is where you meet lifelong friends and make amazing memories. When you look at the big picture, that extra two hours of studying isn’t going to benefit you the way laughing with your friends will. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t study, because you definitely should! Just make sure you spend quality time with your friends. In 20 years you won’t remember all the homework you did. You’ll remember the dance parties, target runs, and late night talks.

Here’s to the best semester yet!

Do you have any tips for a fantastic semester? Let me know in the comments!

Hugs,


Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

