Always Google Discount Codes and 7 other Lessons I learned This Week

It was quite the week last week and I’m more than ready for a fresh start tomorrow morning. The stress of running around like crazy caught up with me and I had a rough couple days. However, I also learned a lot this week!! And I’m sharin’ it all with you.

Lessons

 

  • Don’t be afraid to reach out.  

    October has been a stressful month and it all came crashing down a little on Tuesday night. I’m not one to admit that I’m not okay but I let my guard down for a minute and asked a friend to take me for a drive. I was thinking a 20 minute drive, instead we went to a beach in his hometown, 2 hours away from Eau Claire, at 9:15pm on a Tuesday. I think it’s the nicest thing that anyone has ever done for me. A couple other friends who knew that I was feeling really overwhelmed made sure to check in and see how I was doing as well. I’m so lucky to have such amazing and supportive friends and I’m really glad that I reached out to them. I’m the “Mom” of my friend group, always taking care of everyone but sometimes it is really nice to be the one being taken care of. Reaching out to friends isn’t a sign of weakness, it’s a strength. I felt so much better way faster than I would have if I had stayed silent.

  • Always google discount codes.

    I was buying a concert ticket this week and there were two options. Pay full price or unlock a discount if you enter the right code. I didn’t have a code but I thought ‘What the heck, I’ll try to find it.’ Sure enough, I did and I got $10 off! #score

  • Make sometime for yourself.

    A friend asked me when the last time I took a day to myself was. My response, “Europe.” Being in college means we might not have a whole day to just take off but even just a few hours is better than nothing. Sometimes you just need to take a little break and sometimes taking that break means skipping class. I never skip class, not even when I am sick but I knew that my Wednesday morning 8am was just not going to happen. Instead, I slept in and it was lovely. Is it something that I will do again anytime soon? No, which is why I have zero regrets about skipping this time.

  • Buy the cheap wine.

    I was at a friend’s house Saturday night and we made a classy dinner and had some nice wine to go along with it. It wasn’t cheap wine but I was not a fan. Fast forward an hour to when we were drinking cheap bottles of Moscato, I loved it. Moral of the story, buy the $5 bottles of wine from Target. Your taste buds and wallet will thank you.

  • Keep up with the things that make you happy.  

    I love taking pictures. I used my camera all summer and it brought me a lot of joy. Since school has started however, I’ve barely touched it. I decided that this week I was going to change that. A friend and I went to a bridge lighting event in Eau Claire and I had so much fun taking photos. It’s easy to get so caught up in school/work/organizations+obligations that we forget to do the things that make us happy but these things are important too!

  • Try new places more often.

    This weekend I went to a pizza place and a coffee shop that I had never been to before. They were both so good! The coffee shop had been on my list since last year and I just got around to going today. I’m definitely going to try to explore local shops a little more before I leave for an entire semester!

  • Drink more water.  

    In an effort to make a little more money I went with a friend to donate plasma. Apparently, my veins are too small for the needle they use. This is because I don’t drink enough water. Fun fact: You should drink at least half your bodyweight in ounces of water. I definitely don’t do this on a regular basis but maybe it’s time to start.

  • You can’t give 100% if you’re not at 100%.  

    This is a favorite saying of a friend of mine. I always just shrugged it off like ‘yeah whatever.’ BUT GUYS, it’s so true!! This is going to be my new motto for the rest of the semester. College is a balancing act and if you don’t take care of yourself, balance isn’t going to be achievable. Maybe it will for a little bit but it won’t last long, I learned that lesson the hard way.

 

Learn any lessons this week? Let me know in the comments!

Hugs,

Elisabeth

Leave a Reply

